Zoning Board

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

When a municipality has a zoning ordinance or local zoning law, it is required by the State of New York that the municipality establish a board to hear appeals from that zoning ordinance. The Village of Fishkill Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) functions as both as an administrative and quasi-judicial board.

The need for the ZBA arises when strict compliance with the Village Zoning Code results in constraints upon a property owner's use of their land or when an interpretation of the Village Zoning Code is required. The ZBA may grant Area Variances that provide relief from the area, bulk, dimensional requirements of the Zoning Code and Use Variances that provide for relief from the permitted uses enumerated in the Village Zoning Code. The ZBA also acts as an interpreter of the ordinance and makes judgments on its meaning on specific cases.

The Village of Fishkill Zoning Board of Appeals is comprised of five members who serve staggered five-year terms and are appointed by the Village Board. The Village Board designates one member of the ZBA to act as Chairman. Additionally, the ZBA is permitted by State and Village Law to have two people designated as alternates who attend all meetings and vote in the absence of a regular member.

In 2007 New York State passed legislation mandating that all Zoning Board of Appeals members must obtain four credits of training per year to continue as members of the Board. This means that each Board member receives yearly training yearly and is educated in duties of the ZBA, relevant State Law and environmental issues. The ZBA usually meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 P.M. in Village Hall. For more information, contact Don Van Nostrand, Secretary to the ZBA at 845-897-4430.

Zoning Board of Appeals members and the end of their terms are:

Chairperson  Tom Brooks


Vice Chairperson  Tom Newhard  


Member  John DePew


Member  Theresa Palumbo


Member  Ann Trost